Image does not exist anymore or an invalid image

Voting Opens for 2013 Rare Disease Champion Award

Monday, January 07, 2013
Becky Mayes

Seven finalists have been named for the 2013 Uplifting Athletes Rare Disease Champion Award.  They include: Penn State's Eric Shrive, Oklahoma's Austin Woods, Humboldt State's Dillon Reagan, Florida's Neiron Ball, Navy's Chris Ferguson, USC's Frankie Telfort and Fordham's Andrew Milmore. 

To read about each finalist’s personal story and connection to the rare disease community, as well as to cast your vote for this year’s champion, visit Only one vote per email address.

The honor is presented annually to recognize a leader in the world of college football who has realized his or her potential to make a positive and lasting impact on the rare disease community.  More than 30-million Americans are affected by rare diseases.

The 5th annual award winner will be determined by an online vote beginning Monday, January 7th and ending January 31st at 11:59 p.m. EST. The 2013 Champion will be announced February 1st.  The winner will be presented the Rare Disease Champion Sculpture at the Maxwell Club Awards Gala in Atlantic City on March 1st.

Previous winners include American Football Coaches Association Executive Director Grant Teaff (2009); Dickinson College Quarterback Ian Mitchell (2010); Princeton Running Back Jordan Culbreath (2011); Nebraska Running Back Rex Burkhead (2012).